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STATE  OF NEVADA  
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COSTS: 

• In 2010, the economic cost due to motor vehicle crashes in the U.S. was $242 billion 
(in 2010 dollars). 

➢ Nevada pays $2 billion of these costs. 

➢ That is $732 for every resident of Nevada, each year. 

➢ About three quarters of the costs are paid by citizens not involved in the 
crashes. 

• Crashes cost employers in the State $753 million annually—$610 per employee. 
(based on 2019 dollars) 

PRIMARY SEAT BELT LAWS: 

• In States with primary seat belt laws, law enforcement officers may stop a vehicle 
and issue a citation for a seat belt violation, even if this is the only violation officers 
notice. Officers in States with secondary seat belt laws may issue seat belt citations 
to motorists only after stopping the drivers for another violation. 

• In States with secondary enforcement provisions, 65% of adults aged 18 or older 
support primary enforcement of seat belt laws. In States with primary laws, support 
of primary enforcement is even higher at 80 percent (MVOSS 2016). 

• NHTSA estimates that if Nevada were to pass a primary belt law, seat belt usage 
could increase by 2.7 percentage points. 

• With a primary law, Nevada could save an estimated 5 lives, 69 serious injuries, and 
$16 million in costs each year. (Based on a 2.7 percentage point increase from the 
2021 NV seat belt use rate.) 

USAGE DATA: 

• 6.8 percent of Nevadans–over 213,000 people–are still not buckling up. 

• An estimated 78 lives were saved by seat belts in Nevada in 2017 and 14 additional 
lives could have been saved with 100 percent seat belt use. (STSI) 

COMPARISON TO OTHER STATES: 

Seat Belt Law 

2021 Observed Use Rate 

Nevada 

Secondary 

93.2% 

Washington 

Primary 

94.2% 

Oregon 

Primary 

94.9% 

FATALITY DATA: 

• In 2020, 153 vehicle occupants died while riding in cars and light trucks in Nevada. 
Of these, 54 percent died while not wearing their seat belts compared to 51 percent 
nationwide. (2020 FARS Data) 

• 29 percent (93/317) of the State’s motor vehicle traffic fatalities occur in rural areas; 
however, the fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in rural Nevada is 
higher than the rate in urban areas. (2020 FARS Data) 

• In 2020, 63 percent of nighttime passenger vehicle occupant fatalities in Nevada 
were unrestrained compared to 45 percent of daytime passenger vehicle occupant 
fatalities. (2020 FARS Data) 




